brilliantnax.blogg.se

Midi Reggae Drum Patterns
Midi Reggae Drum Patterns









If it were me, i would reconstruct a classic tune or two completely so you can understand how it all fits together. easiest to do is the "one drop" beat, or the "flyers" style that was used extensively in Bunny Lee productions in the mid-70's but a good set of samples, tear apart a kit and especially all the hi hat nuances and reconstruct or refine an existing beat. is it Horsemouth Wallace, or just some dude playing off his name? dunno, haven't heard it. i heard the Drum Drops Style Scott (Roots Radics) CD and it wasn't bad, certainly a lot better than a lot of purported "reggae" sample CD's i've heard. You're better off just taking some licks off of a decent sample CD. Does anyone have any advice for this?Ģ - Anyone know any good stock grooves (Ableton Suite to apply to reggae/dub?ģ - What do you all think of the stock drum kits in Suite 8? Do they sound weak or is that just me?Ĥ - Would it maybe just be worth buying the Prince Fatty pack from loopmasters and creating my own kits from their loops? But, I know it's been done before to sound great - any old dub records show this. Drawing them on a 16th note grid makes them sound INCREDIBLY robotic, which is anti-groovy. So a few questions:ġ - since GOOD reggae fills are kind of random, drawing them in has been a challenge. My problem is that I suck at playing midi drums live, so drawing is what I usually do, and then apply a groove. but, I'd like to be able to dance on the hihat (swing it, I guess) and draw in some killer fills. I know the basic reggae drum pattern (kick and snare/sidestick on the 3 - or the 2 and 4 depending on how you view it and hihats on the off beat) So I can draw in those basic patterns and it sounds alright. I'm kind of a rookie with Ableton, as my specialty is more recording and playing live guitar, but I've recently been getting into the program more and have found a desire to produce a Dub music project (like real Dub - Scratch Perry, not dubstep).īass, guitar, and keys are all pretty easy for me, I just play the live instrument and record my own loops.











Midi Reggae Drum Patterns